[OST SPOTLIGHT] Kailangan Ko’y Ikaw (2000)

Kailangan Ko’y Ikaw is one of the most popular and well-loved romantic comedy movie released in 2000. This was the first team-up of “Asia’s Songbird” Regine Velasquez and Philippine Cinema’s “Bad Boy” Robin Padilla. The movie is about Gimo Talumpati (Robin Padilla), an auto mechanic who won a special date with Francine Natra (Regine Velasquez), a popular singer. As Gimo re-introduced Francine to the joy of living an ordinary life, they fell in love — putting her showbiz career at risk.


The Platinum-selling movie soundtrack consists of 13 tracks including the themesong “Kailangan Ko’y Ikaw,” composed by Ogie Alcasid. The song won Best Movie Theme Song at the 49th FAMAS Awards, Movie Theme Song of the Year at the 17th PMPC Star Awards for Movies and received 5 awards at the 23rd Awit Awards namely: Song of the Year, Best Ballad Recording, Best Movie/ TV/ Stage Theme Song Recording and Best Performance By A Female Recording Artist.  Check out the track listing below:

Track listing:

  1. Kailangan Ko’y Ikaw by Regine Velasquez
  2. Star On A TV Show by Cacai Velasquez (cover song from The Stylistics)
  3. The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face by Regine Velasquez (cover song from Roberta Flack)
  4. Suntok Sa Buwan by Ely Buendia of Eraserheads (cover song from APO Hiking Society)
  5. Tuwing Umuulan (duet version) by Regine Velasquez & Robin Padilla (a Ryan Cayabyab original and popularized by Basil Valdez)
  6. Giliw by Regine Velasquez
  7. Everyday by Regine Velasquez
  8. The Best That I Can Be (She Loves Me) by Gabby Eigenmann (cover song from Jim Photoglo popularized by James Ingram)
  9. Tuwing Umuulan (solo version) by Regine Velasquez
  10. Sabihin Mo Lang by Regine Velasquez
  11. My Heart Still Wishes For You by Regine Velasquez
  12. Kaligayahan by Regine Velasquez
  13. Kailangan Ko’y Ikaw (Main Theme) by Regine Velasquez with Manila Philharmonic Orchestra

Click below to listen to the tracks
Continue reading


Check out the latest music videos from Leona Lewis, Crystal Bowersox, Ke$ha, Elvis Presley, Kings Of Leon, Sean Kingston and Christina Aguilera.

Leona Lewis – First Time Ever I Saw Your Face (Live at the 02)

In the summer of 2010, Leona Lewis welcomed audiences across the UK to see her live on tour for the very first time.  The setting of The Labyrinth tour, realized by Leona in collaboration with creative director William Baker (known for his work with Kylie Minogue & Britney Spears), allowed her to present her biggest hits in a beautiful, dreamlike setting and was acclaimed by critics and fans alike, with the tour cementing her as an exciting live artist as well as an incredible vocal talent. Fans around the world can now enjoy that magical experience with the release of the full 90 minute show, filmed at London’s O2, on DVD and Blu-Ray.  The DVD format also includes an exclusive bonus CD, featuring 10 live fan favourites. Here’s Leona performing her version of First Time Ever I Saw Your Face live at The 02 as part of the Labyrinth tour. Visit www.leonalewismusic.co.uk/ph for more info on Leona.

Crystal Bowersox – Farmer’s Daughter

American Idol runner up Crystal Bowersox has just released her debut album ‘Farmer’s Daughter’ last December. Her music video for the emotional title track, ‘Farmer’s Daughter’ was directed by Meiert Avis who also worked on videos for U2, Bruce Springsteen, Chris Cornell & Paramore. Check out the video below and visit www.crystalbowersox.com for more news and updates.

Ke$ha – We R Who We R

“We R Who We R” which debuted at number one on the Billboard Hot 100 is included in Ke$ha’s “Cannibal” album, the follow up companion album to “Animal.” The music video was directed by Hype Williams and was filmed in Los Angeles. Check out the video below and visit www.keshasparty.com/ph for more news & updates.

Elvis Presley – Burning Love (Viva Elvis)

Viva ELVIS: The Album is a 21st century celebration of Elvis and his music and feature the voice of the king in a whole new context. Never straying far from the mood and brilliance of the originals, the 12 songs from Viva Elvis: The Album bring his masterpieces bang up to date for the today audience. Check out the music video of “Burning Love” and visit www.elvisthemusic.com/ph for more news & info.

Kings Of Leon – Pyro

Check out the great and visually haunting latest video from the Kings Of Leon, “Pyro.”  The video was directed by Casey McGrath & Max Goldman in NYC. “Pyro” is included in KOL’s fifth album “Come Around Sundown” which Rolling Stone magazine placed at #18 on their list of the Best Albums of 2010. For more info on Kings of Leon, visit www.kingsofleon.com.

Sean Kingston – Party All Night (Sleep All Day)

Here is Sean Kingston’s new catchy single “Party All Night (Sleep All Day)” from his upcoming third album. For more news & updates, visit www.seankingston.com.

Christina Aguilera – The Beautiful People (From Burlesque)

For all the beautiful people, check out this montage of clips from Burlesque set which creates Christina’s new video “The Beautiful People.” Grab a copy of Burlesque movie soundtrack in stores now. Also visit www.christinaaguilera.com/ph for more news & updates.